IM this article to a friend!

January 14, 2005

Announcement: 2005 GUAA Award Winners Selected

From: Gallaudet - Jan 14, 2004

Gallaudet association announces 2005 GUAA Award Winners

Gallaudet University Alumni Association (GUAA) and Laurent Clerc Cultural Fund (LCCF) Committee are pleased to announce the selection of 2005 Award Winners. The award winners will be honored at the 36th Annual Charter Day Brunch and Awards Program on Saturday, April 9, 2005. More details will be forthcoming.

GUAA Outstanding Young Alumnus Award-- to a young alumnus or alumna of Gallaudet University of the past 15 years who has performed some impressive service to the University and/or the deaf community, or who has brought recognition to our Alma Mater through some notable achievement in his/her personal or professional life. This year's recipient is Mr. Steven A. Florio, '92 (RI).

GUAA Pauline "Polly" Peikoff "Service to Others"Award-- to an individual, hearing or deaf, from within the deaf community who has contributed of himself or herself, especially as a volunteer, to the community. This year's winner is Mr. Timothy "Timo" Owens, '79 (KY).

LCCF Alice Cogswell Award--for valuable service on behalf of deaf people. This year's recipient is Dr. Stephen M. Nover, '78 (NM).

LCCF Edward Miner Gallaudet Award – for recognition of national or international leaders for promoting the well-being of deaf people. The 2005 winners are Mr. Eiichi Mitsui (Japan) and Mrs. Nariko Mitsui (Japan).