IM this article to a friend!

May 24, 2005

AG Bell Awards $113,500 in College Scholarships

From: AG Bell - May 24, 2005


Jessica Ripper
Senior Director of Marketing and Communications
Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing
Phone: (202) 337-5220 ext. 123 Fax: (202) 337-8314

AG Bell Awards $113,500 in College Scholarships
Funds support academic goals of 80 students who are deaf or hard of hearing

Washington, DC, May 24, 2005 – The Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing (AG Bell) has awarded $113,500 in college scholarships for the 2005-2006 school year to 80 students who are deaf or hard of hearing and use spoken language to communicate. The students, who represent 31 states and two Canadian provinces, are pursuing a range of fields of study including engineering, architecture, veterinary medicine, and film and video.

"Each year, AG Bell receives hundreds of applications from outstanding students who are deaf or hard of hearing seeking scholarships for their college or university studies," said K. Todd Houston, Ph.D., Executive Director/CEO of AG Bell. "The AG Bell College Scholarship Program supports students who have been diagnosed with hearing loss as infants and toddlers and who now use spoken communication in their everyday lives."

The AG Bell College Scholarship Program offers scholarships ranging from $500 to $2,000 for students identified with moderate to profound hearing loss since birth or before acquiring language. Scholarships are available to students in any field of study who use speech and residual hearing and/or speechreading (lipreading) as their primary mode of communication. Applicants must demonstrate a serious commitment to academic and career excellence and must attend or have been admitted to a college or university program that primarily enrolls students with typical hearing.

The Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing (AG Bell) is a lifelong resource, support network, and advocate for listening, learning, talking, and living independently with hearing loss. Through publications, outreach, training, scholarships, and financial aid, AG Bell promotes the use of spoken language and hearing technology. Headquartered in Washington, DC with chapters located in the United States and Canada and a network of international affiliates, AG Bell's global presence provides its members and the public with the support they need—close to home.  With over a century of service, AG Bell supports its mission: Advocating Independence through Listening and Talking!   For more information, contact AG Bell at (202) 337- 5220 or visit the AG Bell website at


2005 College Scholarship Awardees

Roxana Behmaram Fullerton, CA
Alan Feucht                  Hughson, CA
Samuel Howell                Gridley, CA
Madeline Linares             Santa Cruz, CA
Mina Nishio                  Carlsbad, CA
Serena Triev                 Union City, CA

Sara Kurz                    Carbondale, CO

Alexandra Lewis              South Windsor, CT

Sarah Pinette                Margate, FL

Jessica Dougherty            Fayetteville, GA
William Perry, Jr.           Atlanta, GA
Vinutha Prabhakar            Suwanee, GA
Latoya Smith                 Riverdale, GA

Suzanne Lanier               Moscow, ID

Megan Lee                    Arlington Heights, IL
Stephen Volkamer             Elk Grove, IL

Tonye Hall                   Pendelton, IN
Hadley Nicholson             Indianapolis, IN

Delayne Delridge             Atta, IA

Chase Lozar                  Satanta, KS

Brandon Phillips             Frankfort, KY

Abraham Hakim                Monroe, LA

Emily Mudrick                Parkville, MD
Triin Tamra                  Bethesda, MD

Ella Deych                   Burlington, MA

Leighandra Keeven            St. Charles, MI
Stephen Tang                 West Bloomfield, MI
Marissa Wren                 Prescott, MI
Nicole Yarroch               Hancock, MI

Jerome Krawczewski           Taylor's Falls, MN
Nathan Walker                Prior Lake, MN

Matthew  Conte               Wildwood, MO
Campbell Garland             St. Louis, MO
Abdul Rahman El Fouly      St. Louis, MO

Theresa Muelleman            Omaha, NE

New Jersey
Samantha Frange              Manalapan, NJ
Angela Gracco                Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Jason Lucca                  Bridgewater, NJ
Michael Wright               Cinnaminson, NJ 

New York
Diana Chang                  Flushing, NY
Elizabeth Cozzi              East Meadow, NY
Sara Halpern                 Rochester, NY
Noelle Knopf                 Mt. Sinai, NY
Sarah Lind                   Syosset, NY
Danielle Manno               Pearl River, NY
Jean Tam                     New York, NY
Sean Williams                Pittsford, NY

North Carolina
David Bost                   Matthews, NC
Carole Edwards               Apex, NC
Matthew Hux                  Winston-Salem, NC

Ashley Graham-Smith         Oklahoma City, OK
Jacob Grasmick               Norman, OK
Ryan Guldan                  Tulsa, OK

Meagan Brown                 Bend, OR
Allison Ecker                Albany, OR

Michael Eller                Erie, PA
Kate Fry                     Hellertown, PA
Leonardo Guerico             Philadelphia, PA
Phillip Kirchner             Lancaster, PA
Sara Knapp                   Danville, PA
Andrew Mangiardi             Allentown, PA
Julia Schafer                Yardley, PA
Viral Tejani                 Kingston, PA

South Carolina
David Duncan                 Clemson, SC
Kimberly Morris              Rock Hill, SC

Sarah Dockrey                Goodlettsville, TN
Christopher Dorais           Memphis, TN

Sarah Browne                 San Antonio, TX
An-ni Chang                  Victoria,TX
Arun Immaneni                Richarson, TX
Sarah Vaughner               Houston, TX

Tasha Condie                 Plain City, UT
Brice Robbins                Provo, UT

Edwin Cox, Jr.               Manchester, VT

Hussein Fatemi               McLean, VA
Douglas Hyde                 Alexandria, VA
Grace Mahin                  Radford, VA

Jennifer Woyahn              Waukesha, WI

Ontario, Canada
Heidi Doucette               Yarmouth Co., Ontario
Kurt Kraler                  Amherstburg, Ontario