IM this article to a friend!

January 19, 2003

ISD boys, girls get victories

From: Council Bluffs Daily Nonpareil, IA - 19 Jan 2003

Iowa School for Deaf got past Fremont-Mills JV Saturday 35-28 in a boys prep basketball contest at the Lied Center.

"We really appreciate Fremont-Mills JV for making the trip up here today at the last minute after Kansas Deaf opted not to come," said Bobcats' coach Mike Shannon. "It meant a lot to us, because it was parents' day and many of the parents came from out of town."

The Bobcats jumped to a 6-2 lead in the first quarter, and was able to hold the lead throughout the contest.

Iowa Deaf's Karen Ruckman led all scorers with 16 points to go with her six rebounds and seven steals.

Katie Romey added eight points, six bournds and three assists in the win.

"The girls did a good job of executing today, both offensively and defensively," Shannon said. "It was a real team effort."

Chelsey Williams scored 11 points in a losing effort for the Lady Knights Junior Varsity.

Fremont-Mills JV 2 14 3 9 - 28

Iowa Deaf 6 12 9 8 - 35

Fremont-Mills JV: Molly Willis 0, Bailey Blackburn 6, Paige Vanatta 9, Alicia Miller 2, Chelsey Williams 11, Drew Johnson 0, Ranay Bloedel 0, Lauren Delavan 0.

Iowa Deaf: Karen Ruckman 16 (6r, 7s), Jaka Hart 5, Sarah Brown 6 (12r), Cassandra Case 0 (4a), Erin Huntrods 0, Katie Romey 8 (6r, 3a, 1b).

Records: Fremont Mills JV (na), Iowa Deaf (7-4).

Iowa Deaf 53,

Fremont-Mills JV 31

Iowa School for the Deaf defeated the Fremont-Mills Junior Varsity Saturday afternoon in a prep boys basketball game at the Lied Center.

After a tough first-half, the Bobcats pulled away in the third quarter as they tightened the defensive clamps and allowed just two points during the frame.

Iowa Deaf was led by junior Edlin Dorn, who had 17 points and 14 rebounds in the victory.

Freshman Eric Humlick added 13 points to go with his five steals. Nic Upchurch added 11 points.

Fremont-Mills JV 9 13 2 7 - 31

Iowa Deaf 18 11 16 8 - 53

Fremont-Mills JV: Cyle Clapper 2, Robert Menicucci 6, Kyle Chambers 8, Derrick Foster 2, Taylor Alley 4, Chris Worcester 0, Evan Malcom 2, Dylan Charter 0, Matt Larimor 7.

Iowa Deaf: Daniel Lewis 0, Shane Estes 0, Scott Tinkham 6, Moises Arteaga 0, David Arteaga 2, Eric Humlicek 13, Dereck Bohlman 2, Michael Hamann 2, Nic Upchurch 11, Edlin Dorn 17.

Record: Iowa Deaf (8-4).

©Daily Nonpareil 2003